top of page

Various Artists

Juried Art Exhibition 2016

June 11, 2016 - July 17, 2016

Juried Show 2024 Cover_300x-8.png

The Lancaster Museum of Art & History and MOAH:CEDAR are excited to announce that, beginning this June, the museum’s annual all-media juried exhibition will be moved to the Cedar Center for the Arts. The exhibition kicks off with CEDARFEST, a one-night-only festival celebrating the artists. This year’s jurors include local, internationally recognized artist Stevie Love and Los Angeles Arts Association Executive Director and curator Peter Mays.

CEDARFEST, the exhibition, will be on view Saturday, June 4th, through Saturday, July 9th, 2016. Upper and lower galleries will be open to the public during MOAH:CEDAR’s hours of operation, Thursday – Sunday, 2 P.M. – 8 P.M.

Community members are invited to view the art and share photos on social media using #CEDARFEST. Visitors are also encouraged to vote for their favorite pieces using #CEDARFESTCHOICE2016, as the artwork with the most votes on Instagram will receive a special prize following the exhibition. All exhibiting artists will receive an electronic catalog listing all participants and their displayed works.


Stevie Love lives and works in Juniper Hills in the foothills overlooking the Mojave Desert one hour north of Los Angeles in an adobe house that she and her husband made by hand. She earned a Bachelors degree at California State University at San Bernardino and a Masters of Fine Art degree from Claremont Graduate University in Claremont, California. 

Since earning her Masters degree, she has been developing a diverse body of work that transcends the boundaries between painting and sculpture, using paint as a sculptural medium, paint that is released from the confines of the customary rectangle, blurring the boundary between us the viewer and the relationship we usually have to painting as a pictorial metaphor, instead bringing paint to us as its own reason for being. The play back and forth between metaphor and reality gives the work a life all its own. Peter Frank has described her work as “the moment where pictorial language and mental imagination, conventional thought and erratic vision give way to one another”.

Peter Mays is the Executive Director of the Los Angeles Art Association (LAAA) and its premiere La Cienega exhibition space Gallery 825. Mays believes LAAA is now poised to launch the next phase of the 91-year-old organization’s expansion and commitment to Los Angeles’ emerging artists. 

Since joining LAAA in June 2005, Peter has implemented cultural exchanges with Switzerland (Basel), Korea, Germany and China along with initiated collaborative programming with institutions like Harvard, MoCA and Otis. 

As well as with artists Tim Hawkinson and Lita Albuquerque, secured the very best curators to jury LAAA exhibitions, increased LAAA’s career development programs and direct services by 30% and created LAAA’s public art program which was selected as one of the top public art works completed in 2010 by Americans for the Arts.


Best of Exhibition: Christine Kline, Outlook.

2nd Best of Exhibition: Christopher Darga, Woman in Hat

3rd Best of Exhibition: Marthe Aponte, Virtual Landscape

Beryl Amspoker Memorial Award: Rose Rieux , Genesis

Emerging Artist Award: Nuri Amanatullah, Displacement

Lakes and Valleys Art Guild Award: Christopher Darga, Woman in Hat

Dean Webb Memorial Award: Helen Henry, Step On In

Painting 1: Geoffrey Levitt, Night Train Lights

Painting 2: Bryan Ida, China Basin

Painting 3: Pablo Mercado, Self Portrait

Photo 1: Juan Jimenez, Downtown L.A. 3rd Street bridge

Photo 2: Chung Ping Chen

Photo 3: Jamerson Adams

Illustration 1: Nuri Amanatullah

Illustration 2: Rose Rieux

Illustration 3: Neil Vilppu

2D Mixed Media 1: Ulrica Bell

2D Mixed Media 2: Julius Eastman

2D Mixed Media 3: Eduardo Esquivel

3D Mixed Media 1: Katherine Stocking-Lopez

3D Mixed Media 2: Shahin Massoudi

3D Mixed Media 3: Terry Cervantes

Honorable Mentions:

Ezequiel Marzochetti

Sal Silvestre Vasquez

Douglas Wade

Terry Cervantes

Christine Kline

Karen Stocking

Jim Kelso

Amanda McIntosh

bottom of page